Governor-elect Manuel Mamba of Cagayan (3rd from right) province is proclaimed the winner in the local elections. (Photo courtesy of Cagayan Provincial Information Office)

By Villamor Visaya Jr., Philippine News Agency Stringer and Philippine Daily Inquirer Correspondent

TUGUEGARAO CITY––Governor-elect Manuel Mamba of Cagayan province was proclaimed the winner in the local elections and will serve his third consecutive term.

Mamba, who received 302,025 votes, defeated rival Dra. Zarah Lara, who obtained 278,562 votes.

But the governor’s wife, lawyer Mabel, lost to reelectionist Third District Rep. Joseph Lara, the husband of Zarah.

Also proclaimed were Vice Gov.-elect Melvin Vargas and the winning provincial board members and representatives.

Proclaimed representatives were Ramon Nolasco Jr. (1st district), Aline Vargas-Alfonso (2nd district), and Joseph Lara (3rd District).#